The Big Five

African LeopardAfrican BuffaloBlack RhinoAfrican LionAfrican Elephant

So what is the big five, what does it actually mean?

The big five is a hunting term meaning the five most dangerous animals to hunt on foot. This has been altered through tourism however, and now these animals are flagship species of Africa, and animals that everyone on a safari wants to see.

The animals in the big five are as follows:

African Lion
African Leopard
African Elephant
African Buffalo
Black RhinocerosĀ 

Other pages that may interest you.